What You Should Know About An Auto Accident
While driving is often necessary to get around and carry out your daily life, it unfortunately carries an inherent risk of experiencing an accident. Every driver in Florida should have a thorough comprehension of the state’s auto accident laws and know what they should do immediately following an accident. Read on to learn more about Florida auto accidents and what you should do if you are injured in a car accident.
What To Do If You Get In A Car Accident
If you are involved in a Florida car accident, there are certain steps you should follow to ensure the safety of everybody involved and to protect you in the future if you require more compensation than what your wn insurance provides.
Immediately following a car accident, you should:
- Assess the situation: The first thing you need to do is ensure your personal safety. Turn your hazard lights on so you’re visible to other drivers on the road. Evaluate your injuries, along with those of any passengers, and call 911 right away if anyone needs help.
- Take pictures: If nobody requires immediate medical attention, then do your best to document the accident. Take pictures of the vehicles and people involved in the crash, along with any minor injuries sustained. Always include probable factors that may have influenced the situation, such as road signals, inclement weather, road construction, or obstructions.
- Get witness information: Record the contact information of any witnesses at the scene. This will help later down the line if the case goes beyond standard insurance scenarios, since witnesses will help offer testimony to what happened.
- Call the police: You should always report the crash to the police even if it is minor, since this creates documentation of what happened for insurance purposes. You should also call the insurance company to report the accident.
Florida Is A No Fault State
Florida is a “no-fault” state for auto insurance, which means that every individual’s insurance policy is required to cover their expenses from an accident up to a certain point, no matter who is at fault. You may choose to sue the other driver’s insurance company for additional damages if injuries or damages exceed what an insurance policy covers. This is known as a personal injury lawsuit. Florida law requires every driver to have a minimum of $10,0000 in personal injury protection to cover non-property costs like lost injuries and wages. Drivers also must maintain $10,000 in property damage liability. Proof of these minimum coverages must be in your vehicle at all times. If there are damage or injuries in excess of $500, the parties involved must report the incident to their insurance companies immediately, who will investigate the accident to determine who is at fault.
Contact Us Today
If you are involved in a Florida auto accident, you may need an experienced auto accident attorney to help you navigate the case and protect your legal rights. Izquierdo & Leon Law can help you get the compensation you’re entitled to. Call Izquierdo & Leon Law for an appointment today.